The estimator
Compute, from first principles
Build an estimate
Training run inputs
Estimated results
Every card above is calculated — deterministically derived from your inputs via the formulas in the estimator, not an independently verified figure.
Regulatory thresholds
Default threshold values are reported directly from the regulation cited above; editing a value (or adding a custom threshold) marks it estimated, since regulators periodically revise these figures and reasonable people can disagree about exactly how a given run's compute should be counted against them.
Algorithmic efficiency adjustment
The same capability level typically needs less raw compute over time as architectures, data, and training recipes improve. This shows how much compute your run above would be equivalent to if it had instead been trained using an earlier year's algorithms.
Default doubling time (8.5 months) is Epoch AI's (2024) point estimate for language models — their own reported range spans roughly 5-14 months, and the estimate itself is actively debated, hence the estimated label regardless of the inputs you choose.
Hardware
Hardware comparison
| Chip | Peak BF16/FP16 TFLOP/sReported | TDP (W)Reported | Memory (GB)Reported | Cloud $/hrEstimated | Released |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NVIDIA V100 SXM2 (32GB) | 125 | 300 | 32 | $2.50 | 2017 |
| NVIDIA A100 SXM (40GB) | 312 | 400 | 40 | $1.80 | 2020 |
| NVIDIA A100 SXM (80GB) | 312 | 400 | 80 | $2.00 | 2020 |
| NVIDIA H100 SXM (80GB) | 989 | 700 | 80 | $2.50 | 2023 |
| NVIDIA H800 SXM (80GB) | 989 | 700 | 80 | $2.00 | 2023 |
| NVIDIA H200 SXM (141GB) | 989 | 700 | 141 | $3.50 | 2024 |
| NVIDIA B200 | 2250 | 1000 | 192 | $6.50 | 2025 |
| AMD Instinct MI300X | 1307 | 750 | 192 | $2.20 | 2023 |
| Google TPU v4 | 275 | 192 | 32 | $3.20 | 2021 |
| Google TPU v5e | 197 | 300 | 16 | $1.20 | 2023 |
| Google TPU v5p | 459 | 400 | 95 | $4.20 | 2023 |
Peak FLOPs, TDP, and memory are reported manufacturer datasheet specs. Cloud $/hr is an estimated, representative on-demand list price — it varies widely by provider, region, and contract terms.
Validation
Validation against 5 public training runs
| Run | Chips | Reported compute | Estimator (6ND) | Delta | Duration | Estimator duration* |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-3 (175B) | 1,024Estimated | 314.00 ZFLOPsReported | 315.00 ZFLOPsCalculated | 0.3% | not published | 71.2 days (at 40.0% MFU)Estimated |
| Llama 2 (70B) | 2,048Estimated | not published | 840.00 ZFLOPsCalculated | — | 35.0 daysEstimated | 38.0 days (at 40.0% MFU)Estimated |
| Llama 3.1 (405B) | 16,384Reported | 38.00 YFLOPsReported | 37.91 YFLOPsCalculated | -0.2% | 54.0 daysReported | 67.7 days (at 40.0% MFU)Estimated |
| PaLM (540B) | 6,144Reported | 2.56 YFLOPsReported | 2.53 YFLOPsCalculated | -1.3% | not published | 37.5 days (at 46.2% MFU, reported)Calculated |
| Chinchilla (70B) | 256Estimated | 576.00 ZFLOPsReported | 588.00 ZFLOPsCalculated | 2.1% | not published | 214.8 days (at 45.0% MFU)Estimated |
* Estimator duration uses a default MFU per chip vendor, since most of these sources don't publish an MFU directly — hence its Estimated label even where the underlying compute figure is Reported. PaLM is the exception: Google directly reported their achieved MFU, so its estimator duration is Calculated from that reported figure instead of an assumed one.
GPT-3 (175B): reportedFlops is directly published by OpenAI. The paper does not state GPU count or wall-clock duration, so chipCount (1024x V100) here is an illustrative assumption based on commonly-cited estimates for clusters of that era, not an OpenAI-published figure — trainingDays/energy/cost derived from it should be read as illustrative only. (Brown et al. 2020, 'Language Models are Few-Shot Learners' (GPT-3 paper), Appendix D / Table D.1: total training compute of ~3.14x10^23 FLOPs (3640 petaflop/s-days).)
Llama 2 (70B): reportedChipHours (GPU-hours) is directly published by Meta. reportedFlops is not stated as a single number in the paper, so it's left undefined here and only the estimator's 6ND calculation is shown for it. The 2048-GPU cluster size is an assumed typical scale (per Meta's published RSC infrastructure), used only to convert the reported GPU-hours into an illustrative wall-clock duration (~35 days); the chip-hours total itself does not depend on this split. (Touvron et al. 2023, 'Llama 2: Open Foundation and Fine-Tuned Chat Models', Table 2: 1,720,320 A100-80GB GPU-hours for the 70B model.)
Llama 3.1 (405B): Parameter count, token count, chip count, training duration, and total FLOPs are all directly reported by Meta — the most fully-specified of the three runs. (Meta AI, 'The Llama 3 Herd of Models' (2024): 405B model pre-trained on up to 16K H100-80GB GPUs, ~3.8x10^25 FLOPs, over ~54 days.)
PaLM (540B): The only run here where MFU itself is directly reported rather than assumed — Google explicitly measured and published their achieved hardware utilization, which is the norm this project otherwise has to estimate for every other run (including its own live estimator). (Chowdhery et al. 2022, 'PaLM: Scaling Language Modeling with Pathways': 540B model, 780B tokens, trained on 6,144 TPU v4 chips (two Pods of 3,072) with a reported training efficiency (model FLOPs utilization) of 46.2%.)
Chinchilla (70B): reportedFlops is directly stated in the paper (it's the foundational result behind the 6ND-style compute-optimal scaling laws this whole estimator relies on), but the paper doesn't specify a chip count/training duration for this particular model, so chipCount and chip choice (TPU v4, DeepMind's typical training hardware in this era) here are illustrative assumptions only. (Hoffmann et al. 2022, 'Training Compute-Optimal Large Language Models' (the Chinchilla paper): 70B model, 1.4T tokens, ~5.76x10^23 FLOPs of training compute.)
Compute landscape
Compute by company
Bars use a log scale — training compute spans many orders of magnitude, so a linear scale would make smaller runs invisible. Each company's/country's total is the sum of its notable models' individual compute figures below (mixed Reported Calculated Estimated — see each model's own source in the table below), not a measure of national or organizational compute infrastructure as a whole.
| Model | Organization | Country | Year | Compute |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-3 (175B) | OpenAI | United States | 2020 | 314.00 ZFLOPsReported |
| GPT-4 | OpenAI | United States | 2023 | 21.00 YFLOPsEstimated |
| Gemini 1.0 Ultra | Google DeepMind | United States | 2023 | 50.00 YFLOPsEstimated |
| Llama 2 (70B) | Meta | United States | 2023 | 840.00 ZFLOPsCalculated |
| Llama 3.1 (405B) | Meta | United States | 2024 | 38.00 YFLOPsReported |
| Qwen2.5 (72B) | Alibaba | China | 2024 | 7.78 YFLOPsCalculated |
| DeepSeek-V3 | DeepSeek | China | 2024 | 3.29 YFLOPsCalculated |
| Falcon (180B) | TII | United Arab Emirates | 2023 | 3.78 YFLOPsCalculated |
Training cluster capacity by company
Peak installed throughput of known clusters — a different question from the compute a model consumed during training (see the sections above). Coverage here leans toward clusters with a publicly verifiable chip count (official announcements, TOP500 listings); it is not a survey of national compute infrastructure.
| Cluster | Organization | Country | Chips | Peak capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Colossus(2024) | xAI | United States | 100,000Reported | 98.90 EFLOP/sCalculated |
| Eagle(2023) | Microsoft Azure | United States | 14,400Reported | 14.24 EFLOP/sCalculated |
| Research SuperCluster (RSC)(2022) | Meta | United States | 16,000Reported | 4.99 EFLOP/sCalculated |
| TPU v4 Pod (single pod)(2021) | United States | 4,096Reported | 1.13 EFLOP/sCalculated |
Click a cluster name to open its own page — the racks and servers drawn to scale, power draw, and how fast it could train each known run. Browse all clusters →
Colossus: xAI has since announced plans to expand Colossus toward 200,000+ GPUs (mixing in H200s); this entry reflects the initial, most solidly reported 100K figure rather than later expansion targets. (xAI's own announcement (Sept 2024): Colossus (Memphis, TN) came online with 100,000 NVIDIA H100 GPUs, described at the time as the largest AI training supercomputer in single-cluster operation.)
Eagle: Chip count is directly reported by the operator or a listing body. (TOP500 list (June 2023): Microsoft's Eagle supercomputer ranked #3 globally with 14,400 NVIDIA H100 GPUs.)
Research SuperCluster (RSC): 16,000 is Meta's own announced target scale for RSC's full build-out, not necessarily the exact count operating at every point in time. (Meta AI blog, 'Introducing the AI Research SuperCluster' (2022): initial buildout of 6,080 A100 GPUs, with a planned full build-out of 16,000 A100-80GB GPUs.)
TPU v4 Pod (single pod): This is the documented capacity of a single standard pod, not Google's total fleet — Google operates many pods (PaLM alone used two, see the validated-runs table above). (Google, 'TPU v4: An Optically Reconfigurable Supercomputer for Machine Learning' (ISCA 2023): each TPU v4 Pod contains up to 4,096 chips.)
Regulatory thresholds
Training runs & clusters vs. thresholds
One table, three kinds of row, ranked by compute: validated runs (compute a model actually consumed, checked against its own paper), notable models (compute other notable models consumed, with mixed confidence — see badges), and clusters (hypothetical) — what a known cluster's installed capacity would produce if dedicated to one training run for the duration below, not compute anything actually consumed. This always compares against the thresholds' original default values, not any edits made in the panel above.
| Name | Type | Compute | EU AI Act — systemic-risk GPAI presumption |
|---|---|---|---|
| Colossus | Cluster (hypothetical) | 307.62 YFLOPsEstimated | Exceeds (30.76x) 3.08 x 10^26 |
| Gemini 1.0 Ultra | Notable model | 50.00 YFLOPsEstimated | Exceeds (5.00x) 5.00 x 10^25 |
| Eagle | Cluster (hypothetical) | 44.30 YFLOPsEstimated | Exceeds (4.43x) 4.43 x 10^25 |
| Llama 3.1 (405B) | Validated run | 38.00 YFLOPsReported | Exceeds (3.80x) 3.80 x 10^25 |
| Llama 3.1 (405B) | Notable model | 38.00 YFLOPsReported | Exceeds (3.80x) 3.80 x 10^25 |
| GPT-4 | Notable model | 21.00 YFLOPsEstimated | Exceeds (2.10x) 2.10 x 10^25 |
| Research SuperCluster (RSC) | Cluster (hypothetical) | 15.53 YFLOPsEstimated | Exceeds (1.55x) 1.55 x 10^25 |
| Qwen2.5 (72B) | Notable model | 7.78 YFLOPsCalculated | Below (0.78x) 7.78 x 10^24 |
| TPU v4 Pod (single pod) | Cluster (hypothetical) | 3.94 YFLOPsEstimated | Below (0.39x) 3.94 x 10^24 |
| Falcon (180B) | Notable model | 3.78 YFLOPsCalculated | Below (0.38x) 3.78 x 10^24 |
| DeepSeek-V3 | Notable model | 3.29 YFLOPsCalculated | Below (0.33x) 3.29 x 10^24 |
| PaLM (540B) | Validated run | 2.56 YFLOPsReported | Below (0.26x) 2.56 x 10^24 |
| Llama 2 (70B) | Validated run | 840.00 ZFLOPsCalculated | Below (0.08x) 8.40 x 10^23 |
| Llama 2 (70B) | Notable model | 840.00 ZFLOPsCalculated | Below (0.08x) 8.40 x 10^23 |
| Chinchilla (70B) | Validated run | 576.00 ZFLOPsReported | Below (0.06x) 5.76 x 10^23 |
| GPT-3 (175B) | Validated run | 314.00 ZFLOPsReported | Below (0.03x) 3.14 x 10^23 |
| GPT-3 (175B) | Notable model | 314.00 ZFLOPsReported | Below (0.03x) 3.14 x 10^23 |
This is illustrative only. It shows which already-known compute figures (real or hypothetical) a threshold would flag today — not a prediction of whether a lab would actually cross a future threshold, change its training approach in response, or how "training compute" would be defined or audited in practice.